Cheap Books Don’t Make Cheap Service

Hi, guys! It’s been a long time break for blogging. I’ve started studying at campus again after a fun-but-unfortunately-short almost 3 months holiday. I’ve spent the last 14 days of it to go to Yogyakarta, my favorite city so far in my life. I don’t know if I’ve seen Bali, Yogyakarta will be replaced or not. Anyway, I’d been sightseeing through the city : visited the Keraton Yogyakarta (a place where the kingdom used to be built), studied at Taman Pintar (which I enjoyed so much because I missed the planetarium in Taman Ismail Marzuki, and where I see with my own eyes how knowledge can satisfy your thirst of unanswered questions, especially in astronomical stuff and that’s enough).

Ok, that’s just a little bit of my vacation. I’d really love to share photos of my vacation going to Ajibarang and Batu Raden –a mountain area holiday destination with a spectacular view of the mountain covered with fogs and surrounded by tall trees, a fresh healing from the sickening city Jakarta, which I’ve seen too much for the late four years– which are not in Yogyakarta, but near Kroya, a city where my cousins live. We visited them, too.

Here, now, yeah now, I’m not gonna talk about the wonderful holiday when I don’t need to spend too much money for motels or hotels, we stayed in a family’s house for 3 days.

I’m going to talk about my disappointment towards the Gramedia Matraman books big sale. No big deal that we all need discounts almost for everything, in the name of saving. But, we just need the prices go lower, not the place where we’re gonna go through all the stand to find some cheap books, or not even the service. The place looked so cheesy.

So sorry to say, but I think the service given in that discount-area wasn’t so pleasant. First, the place where they put books, near the parking lot. I don’t mind it, but the placings of the books are so inappropriate, for me, since I really respect books written by those full-of-ideas and brilliant writers but no one would buy it in high price so they had to lower it.

Selling discounted books doesn’t mean you have to put all the cheap-priced stuff in unorganized shelf. I’d witnessed myself that the books were placed not based of the genre. I don’t even know what to look for, I couldn’t figure out whether one shelf contain text books for college or for elementary student. Some religion books were lied with mom and children guidance books. If you don’t believe what I say, you may check this out :

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

The only thing that I could say quite well-organized was comic books shelves, they weren’t so organized, either. See?

It’s been the second time I’ve been disappointed like this. The first time was last year, I went to the same place, same parking lot, same messiness, same unorganized stuff, same unwrapped books everywhere (oh, well, this is bad), and I think I gotta do something about it. Like telling the cashier or people who work there to arrange books to place they belong to, so that the customers will find books they want easily. But, she didn’t even listen to me. She just nodded, no smile, hands are busy, I’m left.

That’s it.

So when the temperature finally got high, I use the chance to tell all of you guys to be critical. Cheap books don’t make cheap place. The books deserve the better place, at least if they still want to open it in a tent, arrange the books alphabetically, based on the genres, and serve the customers with smiles and enough modesty to give them good impressions. While they don’t do that, we don’t even respect them.

And don’t be afraid to be firm on the customers, who unwrap books and read it freely! Standing! And not buying anything. I might want you to kick them ass out of your store, because they’ve been so jerky. You have rights to do that. I also realized that the messiness I saw in the store was caused by the customers. Tell them that they’re not allowed to put books in inappropriate place, If it’s needed, tell them to put away books they read to where it belonged. Not on floors, outside shelves, anywhere you don’t want the books to find but on its place.

So, guys, whenever you’re in a place you really like and respect, pay attention even to the smallest and invisible things, like the missing smile of cashiers, messy place, disorganized books or whatever it is, and tell them what makes you comfortable in that place.

Not to mention that customers are king, but they’re sometimes right, if not rude. Workers serve you, don’t forget to respect them who help you, too. Tell them what you want in polite manners so they will keep you in their sights. Different from the cashier I met, maybe she was just tired of complains or something. Make sure you use proper tone to make them listen to you.

Well, that’s all I can write for now. As a college student, I need books that the prices fit my budget, no lying. I think everything deserves the same treat, no matter how cheap it is or maybe how useless it is to you. Maybe other people need it so you have to give full service and help them find what they want.

Whenever you start to run a business, here’s my only advice : make your business place as good as beautiful as you and your customers want to see and feel, keep the high quality sanitary in your place so they will keep coming back and even trust you. And don’t ever fool your customers! Really, ever!

About Ayuri

A not-so-elegant, classic girl, who loves writing, reading, dreaming (unlike daydreaming coz it's not good for me), and debating with my brother. I think I can see this world better if I ever experience something somewhere. By my own.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

